Numbness/pins & needles

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi all.

I've had these sensations in my nose and part of my right eye since November, also a blocked nose since mid December.

Had an Mri scan & Ct scan which revealed some problems with my sinuses(not major) also close relationship between left trigeminal and adjacent blood vessel. Booked in to see the neurologist soon.

It seems according to the report vascular contact of the inferior & medial surface of the trigeminal nerve.

Looking where that nerve is(lower down the face) could this still be a cause of my problem?

1 like, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Colin.......I am new to TN. Was diagnosed last August. My pain has been from my forehead down my eyebrow thru my eye. Also my nose and down into teeth and jaw. The trigeminal nerve can affect the entire side of your face. I was having the pins and needles on my eye. Went to my optometrist and he said it was caused by severe dry eye. Have to use eye drops 4-6 times a day. It has helped a lot. I sincerely hope this helps a little.
  • Posted

Hi,

In a nutshell....Yes. From the spinal cord the nerve divides into left and right, and once it enters the face it divides into three branches. One covers the eye and forehead and part of the nose,one the upper teeth,lips and cheek and the lower branch covers the jaw and lower teeth and lips. Any one or more of the branches can be active at any given time.

Good luck with diagnosis, treatment and managing the condition.

• Posted

Many thanks for both your replies.

Yes I've noticed the three branches of the trigeminal nerve coming into the face, I just presumed the lower nerve (Mandibar, which seems to be my problem) wouldn't of caused these sensations or blocked nose.

That would of been the Maxillary branch as that's in the area of my troubles.

I guess I'll find out soon enough when I see the neurologist.

• Posted