Oesophageal ulcer

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, I have an oesophageal ulcer which they graded on the savary millers system as grade 4 at my first endoscopy. When I had my second endoscopy last week they've now staged it at grade D - "Grade D    One (or more) mucosal break which involves at least 75% of the esophageal circumference" Can anyone explain this please? Does it mean that 75% of the whole oesophagus is affected or 75% of the area at the ulcer? Thanks for your help, Heather

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

All I know is a grade d is a reference to the size of your hiatus hernia which is on the largest grade  in so doing a lot of reflux  I am not sure what the 75% thing means 

what meds have you got to take ? 

You need to ask doctor what it means 

ie is it 75% through oesophagus wall or 75% round whole of the oesophagus . Have they tested for h/pylori ?

im not a doctor but you need to get answers and a plan of action from your doctor

regards 

Trev

• Posted

Hi Trev, thanks for your reply. I don't have a hiatus hernia, I had a nissen fundoplication done in 2000 and that got rid of the hernia. The grade d is part of the Los Angeles classification of gastroesophageal reflux disease. I don't understand why the nurse is using 2 diff end classification systems. I've already asked 2 GPs about the illness and I was told not to have anything spivey to eat. I have another GP appointment next week and I'm hoping she is more clued up than the other two. My next hospital appointment isn't until July.  I'll come back on here and hopefully will be better informed.  Heather
  • Posted

Hi Heather; yes I agree with Trev....I can't give you any answers either, but am very interested in what the Results do mean, too.  Ring your GP for an appointment, for the first available one, and let us all know.  As you know, we are all on your side...with you in this, and would like to be there for this  journey with you.....Bron
    • Posted