olanzapine for severe anxiety

Posted , 6 users are following.

Im looking for some reassurance so please no horror stories. For people out there that take thisbmedication. Is it normql to experience heightened anxiety when starting/ increasing it?

1 like, 19 replies

19 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Yes, Alison - it can cause some agitation and anxiety at first. I don't take the medication but I'm a former nurse and a friend of mine takes it as well. No need to worry about this but you might want to discuss it with your doctor or other mental health care worker.

And perhaps it might be a good idea to unfollow any discussions on the subject of olanzapine. A lot of people have reported that it's been a life-saver for them, but there are others who feel very strongly about having been forced into taking any antipsychotic drugs. They have every right to express their concerns in a public forum, but sometimes these concerns can indeed read like "horror stories".

My friend has been on three different antipsychotics - ending with olanzapine. One thing I can say is that the first two caused severe extrapyramidal side-effects. One sent her into a state ressembling Parkinson's disease, while the other had the opposite effect, producing constant abnormal movements of her head, arms and upper body which made it impossible for her to even feed herself. Since starting olanzapine she has had absolutely no sign of either of these distressing side-effects.

• Posted

Thankyou so much for such a reassuring reply. I will be sure to unfollow any other discussions. I will persevere with it and hopefully it will settle. I have heard that it can take up to 8 weeks to work??

Im glad that your friend has had success with it. My psychiatrist did tell me that olanzapine has the least extrapyramidal side effects. Im taking 5 mg and hopefully that dose will help.

• Posted