On the road to recovery

Posted , 6 users are following.

Just thought I would share an update on my progress...

I have been recovering from an EBV infection since October 2017 (or possibly longer).

The last couple of weeks I have really started to feel better!

The biggest test so far was spending the day in Gatlinburg with my family last week- lots and LOTS of walking and driving. Way more than I intended to do, but I was thinking if I don't have a relapse after today, I must be doing pretty good.

I felt really achy and wiped out for a couple of days, but I never had a full-on relapse (it's been about a week and a half since that day).

While my rib glands still bother me frequently and I still experience other mono symptoms off and on (headaches, brain fog, anxiety, fatigue, breathlessness, occasional queasiness), they are at a much lesser degree.

I've read several people on this forum describe that you start having good moments throughout the day. It's like the clouds parting and a ray of sunshine hitting you. Those moments turn into hours. And then those hours turn into days. It is so true!

I am still far from full recovery, don't get me wrong! I would say I am at about 50-60% of my full physical capacity.

Here are some tips that have helped me out:

* Keep a journal. Seriously, this has been a life saver. Record your daily feelings and symptoms. It can be difficult to tell day to day whether you are improving, but if you go back and read over older entries you can see your progress.