One person helped me on here and I now wish to Thank her!

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi All,

I'm not writing this because I'm depressed, I am still on medication for depression - Yet, 18 months ago I looking for help, when I had a complete breakdown, and I felt terrible about it.

One person that really gave me an idea was a woman, whom asked me if I had ever tried online courses, more specifically with Future Learn - part of Open University here in the UK. I tried a few courses very interesting and it took me away from the depressive state I was in, at the time.

Since then I have acquired over 30+ certificates from Digital Antropology to Advanced Mathematics and Cyber Security.

In that time I studied The "Trachtenberg Speed System" in Mathematics, I wish I knew this when I was in school many decades ago. I can now work out huge logical mathematics faster and further than a calculator. The stupid part about it was you do not need to know any multiplication or division, as long as you can add and subtract either on paper or in your head, to be honest I find it quicker in my head.

I didn't stop there I re-applied to MENSA again, when I was just 17 my IQ was 165. I assumed it would change over the years and with what I know now, it would of increased. Never assume as many people say, that is a true fact because my IQ after all these years was still 165! The average IQ of most people is between 130-140.

And now for the reason why I am so happy today. Yesterday, I received an email from the Open University, asking me if I would be interested in taking part Mentoring Teachers, basically giving them ideas to put forward for the current school curriculum within the UK. I replied yesterday stating I would be grateful for the position. It is an honorary position (in other words, I do not get paid for accepting the position). The main benefit to me as the role holder would be kudos amongst peers and/or professional development and CV enhancement.