One year post op rotator cuff with bicep tears.

Posted , 3 users are following.

One year post op. Two of each: rotator cuff tears, bicep tears and tears under my armpit. Arthrex Speed Bridge put in. Limited Physical Therapy.

I know. PT is and was important. 6 sessions in and I felt a “pop “ “rip” and burn during session 6. Girl insisted I was o.k. Told me, in a rude (I know everything) comment (in front of other patients) that my implant will dissolve. NO. There was no more discussions. I was sore, hurting and frustrated. I also found out that doing PT only 18 hrs after extensive outpatient surgery was too soon according to Arthrex. PT was going well till session 6.  Session 1 started only 18 hrs post op. Even changed my dressing. That in itself scared me. No gloves and ripped it off. Wow! I worked in the medical field for 40 yrs. Unheard of technique. I complained till she went and got gloves on. That set our relationship in a down spiral. So, I contacted a friend who is a retired Chiropractor. He gave me exercises and instructions. My husband did my arm lifts. 

Now, I have ongoing “lift” problems. It feels like I can’t maneuver my arm like I should be able to do. Feels limited. Almost like the implant is restricting me. Now, I have elbow and hand pain, spasms and cramps, numbness there. One spot next to my scar is very painful (screw area?) and warm. My arm tendons are tight. I don’t think I have rotator issues but it’s bicep issues. 

Anyone’s thoughts on this? I don’t want to go back to doctor just yet but I may have to as it’s getting worse. I’ve been slathering the area with Volaren Gel and it helps.

Thanks for your input.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

If you decide to go back to the doctor, I would find a new one. No way should you have started PT that soon, and your PT person sounds like she should be fired.
  • Posted