One year post PKR and renewed pain at the site of implant

Posted , 3 users are following.

It's one year ago since my partial knee replacement. I work as an SEN support assistant and occasionally I have to go on school trips.

These trips are very physically demanding and require a lot of walking, going up & down stairs and long periods of standing around.

I have made a really good and speedy recovery with no problems at all since my surgery!

However, following two schools trips I am now in pain at the site of my implant and was wondering if anyone out there has experienced a similar experience?

Should I see my surgeon about that issue or GP?

Let me know your thoughts and experiences plz. Thanks 😃

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I also had a pnr in Jan of this year. I was having issues with pain as well. After 2 visits and a cat scan they found a loose piece of cement. This would cause my leg to freeze up in extreme pain. I would go at least have it xrayed. Maybe even a scan. I wonder if we will ever be able to do the things we did before.

• Posted

Thanking you for your reply. It was very helpful. Unfortunately I doubt whether we will be able to do things we used to. I know I can no longer run or kneel any longer as I have PKR on both knees.

• Posted

Did you need to have revision surgery for the loose piece of cement?

• Posted

Good luck with you revision surgery. Be strong and stay positive 😃)

• Posted

I had my x-ray today but there was no evidence of anything wrong. They said everything was in place regarding the implant.

However, I am still experiencing pain in my knee! 😦

• Posted

Hi

I had PKR 3 years ago. Had very good recovery etc.