open mymectomy

Posted , 6 users are following.

hi has anyone done an open mymectonomy and what were your experiences because that is what my gyna said am having and i am nervous about the scar and pain afterwards

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Edited

Hi Jay59548,

I had open myomectomy in May. I wanted it so I may be a bit biased. I did not qualify for laparascopic but I still would have gone for open myo if I was offered the former. I am also a veteran cesarean section patient. THat said, the experience was not as brutal as I expected. Mine lasted three hours because of all the little critters they had to remove. I did not bleed. My fibroids were mostly intramural. I did not experience pain as much because my doctor inserted a pain pump into the incision site. I carried teh pump with me for a good 7 days. Once the pump was removed, I did not need the oral pain meds I was given. I had to do medical travel for this surgery (a 5 hour flight). I was able to get on the plane on Day 8 and fly back home. My first period was barely there. THe second was a hose. The third was a smaller hose. The fourth one even better. My surgeon advised that the uterus does out of the ordinary things when healing from this kind of major surgery. The heavy periods was one of them. My cycle used to be 21 days from last day to the first day of the next period. Since the surgery I am now doing 28 to 29 days between cycles. I do not miss my periods and I am glad for the longer cycle. I hope this helps. I am currently able to do pilates. I started this abdominal training in September. It is helping me strengthen my abdominal muscles. Hope this helps.

• Posted

thank you for your reply so is not so bad afterall i just dont want want a long scar and mine is intramural as well i guess that is why they gave me an open mymectomy...i will jus have to brave it cause this critters are so horrible.

• Posted