Our three week old baby was diagnosed with supraventricular tachycardia – our story and experiences.

Posted , 4 users are following.

I want to share our personal experiences with having our youngest boy (3 week old) diagnosed with supraventricular tachycardia. It is meant to inform other parents, their families and medical staff. We are a Dutch family, living in Rotterdam Netherlands, English is my second language, I am not a medical professional. Our son is now 2 years old and thriving.

How it started

The night that our baby boy had an episode of supraventricular tachycardia he was not drinking (breastfeeding) and he vomited several times. He was crying softly with his eyes closed. I took his temperature, but it was normal. First, I thought it was my own sleep deprivation and mild hypochondria. With my oldest son I had gone to the emergency unit once while there was nothing wrong with him. Coming from a medical family I could not bare the humiliation of having to admit that I ran with a completely healthy baby to the emergency unit twice.

A week earlier I had noticed the exact same symptoms, when he was ten days old. Again, not drinking, crying, vomiting (clear difference with his normal refluxing/spitting up), no fever. That time I had given some milk on a small spoon between his lips which provoked a small gag-reflex, and this made him “reset” right before me eyes. He started drinking immediately and fell asleep. I hindsight I think I might have unknowingly ended an episode of SVT.