Overtraining at the Gym

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hey all how are you all doing I have been having increased anxiety since I started going to a trainer at the gym. He increased my workload that I was doing before. I have been working out for many years just thought I would try this. The first week I was feeling ok just having sleeping issues but now my anxiety is really bad and hate it. I was wandering if anyone has had experience with overtraining and what it feels like could it increase anxiety? I thought going to the gym was supposed to reduce stress but maybe too much is not good for a person like me. I am taking a week off and hopping this will go back to normal soon. Also have been working extra hours which do not help the situation I suppose.  

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I can realate to that i thought that going to the gym will release adrenaline and make me feel better but no sometimes the increased heart rate makes me scared .
  • Posted

Maybe it the added pressure of the extra hours at work and the extra training at the gym. Anxiety is the product if a overtired and overworked mind and it's our minds way of telling us that something needs to give....that we need to slow down.

The gym is a fabulous idea but if you could perhaps find time to balance that out by doing a little meditation or deep breathing excercises. Just a little time to silence and relax your mind and body will work wonders. Even if you skip the shower after the gym and go home and lay down in the bath with your eyes closed,relaxing.

Distraction is a great way of getting over the bad moments of anxiety but rest is just as important,

Listen to your body and mine. If they are telling you that you are tired,then rest. If they tell you that you need to get up and do something,then get up and do something. I wish you all the best xxx

• Posted