Oximeter

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi

Have just had diagnosis of emphysema via chest x-ray and am to have lung tests with GP practice nurse in the new year. Am reading as much as possible (this forum and its participants are fab), and am thinking of buying an oximeter.  Do any UK sufferers have an oximeter and, if so, can you recommend a particular model?

Many thanks

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Maureen, I have no experience with one - other than when at the doctors. I am a new copd'r and like you, am reading an incredible amount (some say to much). Can you share the specific symptoms you are having that alerted you to get the diagnosis and how long did you smoke (assuming you did). What was the doctors words when he told you?  Thank you, LT
    • Posted

Hi Larry

I had pain in upper back (round right shoulder and shoulder blade and neck) and was desperately tired,  Had these symptoms since a heavy cold at end of August which seemed to go on and on. Saw GP who sent me for chest xray at local hosp.  'Phoned surgery for my result and receptionist told me that xray showed 'background changes of emphysema' and that duty dr would call.  Well duty dr did not call and after two days I called the surgery to speak to my GP who was very dismissive and told me that I had smoking damage and to make appt with practice nurse for lung tests but I will now have to wait until the new year!

Smoked for 40 years, 20 a day and probs sometimes more.  Accept it's my own fault but don't expect to be treated in such a cavalier fashion.

Apologies for the rant.  

Still have the shoulder/back pain and have made an appt with local therapy clinic to discuss massage or other possible treatments to help ease this pain.  GP says take paracetomol/ibuprofen but didn't offer prescription (live in Scotland so scripts are free).

Anyway, like you reading and reading - probably too much but think it;s important especially since my GP is less than helpful.

Maureen

• Posted