Packing of Abscess

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have an abscess which I have packed daily by the district nurse. I have it packed in the morning, I have a bath in the moning, which makes the packing come out. I do this before my before the packing appointment,  then in the evening I have a shower, but avoid the packed area. Is it ok to leave the packing in overnight.

Is it normal for the packing to have a slight smell, or is it a sign of infection, I'm feeling upset as If I leave the packing in overnight, it has a slight smell in the morning. I'm scared of the packing come out in the evening, as last time my wound healed on outside before the inside and I had to have an op to open the wound again

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Try and keep wound dry.. And just get nurses to clean wound before they pack u

Like I said in last post, I didn't get my wound wet till about 5 month down the line till it was practicly closed , the first 5 month I would shower body but not wound.. And just get my district nurse to give the wound a wet, and a gentle wipe etc..

Laying in the bath till it practicly closed is a no no in my opinion even now I'm sticking to showers cos I'm nearly closed just the last bit won't close due to a infection.. But I did try baddidas baths recently and they didn't seem to help so just having showers and showering the wound letting it run down gentle.. Don't hold the shower head close to your wound cos it can open the wound the pressure of the shower

• Posted