Pain 3 weeks after microdiscectomy L5S1

Posted , 2 users are following.

hello my name is vanessa i am 23 and just had a microdiscectomy.

My lifestyle before my surgery was very active. I was a retail manager so my job was physically demanding. I also ran and did strength training between 3-6 days a week.

I've had lower back pain since i was a child. Especially working retail. When my job was closed for corona virus i was spending alot of time sitting around. I began going for runs outside where before i ran on a treadmill. I also had a terrible mattress that hurt my back. I noticed my back was hurting but assumed it would go away as it had before.

So i went for a run. The next day i woke up in a lot of pain in my lower back on both sides. I took some ibuprofen and did some yoga. It continued to worsen. I tried to keep a balance of being active and also resting. I kept doing yoga even though it really hurt.

My pain continued to worsen until it was in my thigh and my calf. One day I woke up in so much pain i was throwing up and passing out. After that my entire foot was numb and my right side of my right leg. I began seeing a chiropractor. Slowly my feeling returned to most of my foot except the right side. My leg numbness continued.

I really had no pain, only numbness. After several weeks i got an MRI. They told me I needer surgery.

I had no pain until recently. After surgery I had pain from the incision and swelling but still no nerve pain. My numbness continued with no improvement. Two weeks after surgery i had no pain at all but was still numb. I was excited.

I started working, I got an office job. I noticed some swelling or a lump near my incision but not under it. I called the doctor they said it was fluid or scar tissue. Still no pain but some spasms in my back and leg.