Pain below the sternum bone/chest pain spasms

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hello everyone, so I have been keeping a diary, and for the last 8 months on and off I get tenderness under the rib cage, and also painful chest spasms.  The crazy thing about this is sternum pain comes about a week before my period and the chest pain comes right at the beginning of my period or right around ovulation.  I have skipped a few months, but it usually shows up during this time of the cycle.  I also have globes sensation in my throats on and off.  I have had all the heart tests offered, I have had tons of blood work, I have had ultra sounds done and so far nothing.  In about a week I will be doing a barium swallow test to see what may be causing the globes sensation.  The doctors are suggesting and endoscopy, to check and see if anything is going on in my esophagus and stomach....they think gerd.....but I have no heart burn....Just wondering if anyone of you ladies come across this symptom during  these certain times and have you found anything helpful.  I have switched to a low acid diet, I sleep on a wedge pillow,  I eat small meals and I stop eating3 to 4 hours before bed.....So I am not sure this is gerd or if it is a hormonal thing causing muscles to spasm.

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted