Patient - Trusted medical information and support

Skip to content

Settings Messages Notifications

Sksulli Sksulli

?1 : Beginner

BV burning

Sksulli

Sksulli

Help please. I have been fighting with something ( apparently BV) for 9 months. I started dating someone new and immediately started having a mild burning in my vagina and a gross smell. I have always had a lot of discharge and that stayed the same. I treated it as a yeast infection with over the counter and home remedies. It would go away as long as he didn't ejaculate inside me. About 3 months ago the smell became horrible. I went to the Dr and they said I did not have any yeast or bacteria so it had to be peri- menopaus. (No idea how to spell that) I am 43. I got an estrogen cream that did nothing. I contacted a compounding pharmacy and they said that sometimes when you throw antibiotics at something it could build a super bug that can be undetected by tests and gave me a cream containing boric acid. That seemed to do the trick with the discharge and smell but nothing for the itching. The past week the itching, stabbing, burning, stinging has become more than I can bare. I went to a different Dr and they did a swab and said it's BV. They gave me flagyl and something else. The discomfort is so bad, I've had to use tooth ache numbing gel (which is not working anymore) and ibuprofen and Tylenol to be able to go to work. I soak in the tub at least 4x a day and take lots of sleeping pills to get through the night. My vulva is swollen so big I feel like a guy. Please help. I feel like I have tried everything. It hurts and itches so bad.

1 like, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Sorry to hear this, have you tried applying apple cider vinegar solution.
    • Posted

Yes, it does nothing at all. I've tried, peroxide, honey, aloe, baking soda, the list goes on and on. At this oint I'm taking 2aleve and 800 mg ibuprofen and a prescription pain pills every 5 hours. All while soaking, icing, using itch cream....