Painful knuckle, several weeks after mild impact injury

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi,

Several weeks ago now, I injured my middle knuckle of my right hand. I punched something hard to dent it, as I didn't have a hammer to hand, and normally that wouldn't be a problem, I didn't punch that hard!

The knuckle immediately felt very painful, although tolerable, and it slowly died down after a while, so I figured I'd just bruised it and it'd go back to normal.

Now though, it's been several weeks and the knuckle is painful at it's extremes of actuation. I.e, if my fist is tightly clenched, or I'm holding something tightly, or bending the finger in any way - so any pressure on the join in any direction gives me pain.

Does this mean I've trapped a nerve?

I'm a professional programmer, so need my fingers for my job. I'm 25, otherwise healthy male.

Any advice is much appreciated.

Mike.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

You may have damaged the tendon around the joint or the joint itself, thus the pain at end range (tightly clenched fist). Bruises to muscle heal quickly, usually in 3-5 weeks, but injuries to the joint itself or to the bones surrounding the joint or the tendons around the joint take 6-12 weeks to heal. If it is not better soon, I would also recommend an xray to ensure you haven't chipped off a piece of the bone on that knuckle. Hope this helps.
  • Posted

Hi, Thanks for the response.

As your response was 6 months after I posted this, (still grateful for the response! smile ), you're right, the joint must have taken around 2 months to return to normal. It's totally perfect again now.

Thanks. smile

• Posted