Pan Optix Lens

Posted , 9 users are following.

If you have had a cataract surgery with a Pan Optix lens, could you describe your vision?

0 likes, 45 replies

45 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Ellen, sorry that we kind of hijacked your thread. You may want to look at the thread at the link below for some more input. It is fairly long and I recall there are all kinds of opinions pro and con.

https://patient.info/forums/discuss/panoptix-experience-718184

I have no direct experience with the PanOptix. My surgeon told me on my first consult for my first eye that he had a hard time recommending this lens as he would not use it for his own eyes. I also have a friend that had less than perfect experience with the PanOptix in both eyes. The reader's digest version is that she (after at least a couple of years) is afraid to drive at night due to the in her words, "huge halos" around oncoming car and street lights. Her vision is good during the day, except she needs +1.75 readers to read a book. She regrets making the decision to spend the extra money for a MF lens as she is now stuck with a driving issue and has again in her words "dozens of readers" in two different houses and in her trailer.

This all said some like the PanOptix lens. I think it kind of depends on how much value you put on going without glasses, and how prepared you are prepared to put up with the optical side effects. I was not willing to accept the risk, and I think I can get similar or perhaps better results with mini-monovision. This is a solution that many overlook.

• Posted

imo pan optix is the 2nd best trifocal out there in the world. the best is zeiss. i put pan optix at 2 due to glistening which is damage to lens material. i do not care about the cat eye effect.

pan optix clareon is fda approved but not yet available. that could have taken care of the glistening and would probably make the pan optix the best.

i think jnj has missed the trick with synergy by embedding edof.