Partners Drinking bringing me to breaking point

Posted , 9 users are following.

Been with my current partner 4 years . bad divorce and stressful ex husband but for her the whole crutch in her life up to now is Two bottles of wine a night every night without fail and if run out then its a coffee with baileys . has around 130 units per week and always has a bottle to come to bed with . totally impossible with anger issues ( breaks doors down when I don't give her car keys ) . very attractive but the hassle this is causing is unreal . I'm a truck driver and she sits in bed till early hours smoking and drinking with usually a TV on and come 1.30am I'm being woken then usually kept awake as she argues before I retire to the guest room . This current state has been going on for 3 years of our relationship and worse still is she got so drunk in front of my children they are now banned by my ex for overnights . she won't see a doctor and if her own daughter goes to school she usually goes back to bed to recover . I'm writing this in guest room and ultimately just want out of this situation . gave up my own house to move in and regret being trapped paying all my wage to keep my partner in wine and cigs .

4 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Angle, let me try and change your perception of this whole situation as it may help. Alcohol dependence is a physical illness that affects some people who drink. They don't start off drinking anymore than other people but, because, they are built slightly differently, they get a greater reward from drinking than the vast majority of people.

For many years, alcohol dependence has been treated as a behaviour problem, it has been considered that people inflict this problem on themselves. That is incorrect and it is only now that treatment is available to treat the physical illness.