patient stopped breathing the other day while having a colonscopy

Posted , 7 users are following.

I wrote in a few months ago about how when I had my last colonscopy in March I stopped breathing not only once but twice

I work in a hospital where they do the colonscopy so the other day theres a code called only to find out a patient was having a colonscopy and was given to much sedation since he was moving and stopped breathing--just like what happened to me

the only difference being they got me breathing again unfortunalty not the case with the patient--he unfortunatly did not make it

he was the same age as myself

people just cant figure out why I freak out so bad at having these done--this is why

2 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

This is exactly why people should just say no to this barbaric procedure.

• Posted

curious what would you suggest as alternative? Surely an hour of pain is better than potentially dying a horrible slow death over a year from bowel cancer?
    • Posted

If you have a family history go ahead. I wouldn’t.  But to have one JUST because you turned 50 is insanity

• Posted

They could give you a general anaesthetic but they won't because it's too expensive and takes too long.

• Posted

I’ve had two colonoscopies done in the last 3 years and I hated having each one. As the last one came back as everything looking healthy, and biopsies are clear, then that is it for the rest of my life. I am not having another done and will just let nature and fate decide how the rest of my life will unfold.
  • Posted

Surely this is a rare incident though? Did the patient have any underlying health issues?
  • Posted

Good Morning:

The patient should ALWAYS have the choice to go sedation free. Just have an IV inserted for pain if needed. Many places won't do it without sedation because they want the patient as compliant as possible.