PCOS stories for a documentary idea

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello, my name is Toni and I'm a student at the northern film school. As part of my degree one of my tasks is to write a pitch for a documentary. I've chosen to focus my topic on PCOS as it's an issue very close to my heart after being diagnosed with it 4 years ago. 

I would love to hear your stories about your experience with it. How has if affected you?

All names will remain anonymous as this is purely for research purposes.

I look forward to hearing from you all.

Many thanks, Toni

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

I was diagnosed in 2006 with PCOS. I don’t get period. I take a pill. 
  • Posted

I was diagnosed four years ago at the age of 16, however was fairly confident that was what my problem was from the age of 14 but took along time to get diagnosed. It was a big factor to my weight gain which lead to bullying. I have struggled for a really long time to lose weight and with doctors telling me “for every normally person to lose 4 pounds it will take your body the same amount of effort to lose 1” I felt set for failure. I started slimming world in Feb 17 and by Sept 17 I had lost 3 stone. I still struggle with some of the symptoms the main one bothering me at the moment is hair growth, I shave and one minute later it’s growing through again and I am starting to get thicker hairs growing through on my face. I was also prescribed metaformin to help with my weight loss however I have never managed to get settled with changes in my employment/education I have felt uncomfortable taking when I end up needing to go to the toilet suddenly. I am thinking about trying again as my weight has maintained since sept and even with excersize I can’t seem to shift it any more but still a lot to shift 
  • Posted

Hi