PE and working 12 hour shifts

Posted , 6 users are following.

I was diagnosed with a PE this past Monday night. I honestly never seen it coming. I had woke up about a week earlier with a super sore and sensitive calf. But just blew it off to a pulled muscle or something. I am 37 and a blood clot just never crossed my mind. A week later, I find out I have a PE in my left lung. I find myself wondering if my job is going to be ok with this medical condition. I am a surgical scrub technician. I work 12 hour shifts on my in often very high stress. I wondered if anyone had any knowledge they could share to help me out? Thank you. 

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Afraid I can’t help very much - just wanted to say that I was recently discharged after a submassive bilateral PE and when I told my consultant I was just about to embark on training to be an ODP she was absolutely adamant that I continue with it. Are there any adjustments that your employer can make whilst you recover?  
    • Posted

I haven’t talked to my employer yet. I wanted to have an idea of things before talking to her. I meet with a Dr on Mon and should have a better idea of what he plans. I just don’t know what to think. I feel frustrated with the whole situation. 
  • Posted