Pellet hormone therapy for vaginal dryness (atrophy) and Chtonic insomnia

Posted , 5 users are following.

Small rice like hormone pellets put in by the hip buttock area used for a multitude of hormonal reasons but I am looking at vaginal atrophy and insomnia after full hysterectomy.  Any one know anything about this

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

I have been using estradiol oestrogen implants on and off since 1990 after full hysterectory.  The off time was when they stopped making the pellets so had to use patches - not completely satisfactory.  So I found a compound chemist who makes the pellets (needed dr's script) and am now back on them.

I had hiccups when my gp insisted I used provera as well "for balance".  Surgical menopause does not need "balance".  Progesterone made my oestrogen ineffective and full menopause symptoms returned.

A 100mg (12 month) pellet used to only last me 9 months.  When I went back onto the pellets made by the private compound company they did not last much more than 4 months but that might have been caused by the Provera.

In case you do not know, the 'strength" of the pellet e.g. 100mg is not the strength the body gets from it.  In actual fact the body takes only what it needs when it needs it - different for various times of the day.  The 'strength' is about how long it lasts.  A 50mg will not last very long and costs just about the same as 100mg.

Before I went on an overseas holiday, I did not want to have any problems due to my pellet running out, so I requested 2 x 100mg to last me longer.  That was March, and it is still going well now (August) - crossed fingers.  Some drs who do not know this fact would probably have an apoplexy and think I am getting too much oestrogen.

I have it implanted in my abdomen fat - it must be implanted into fat to be effective.