Pelvic floor and imbalance

Posted , 2 users are following.

Looking for some knowledge and wondering if my siduation can affect pelvic floor. I have a hip imbalance and one rotated hip which is  causing tightness one side and my muscles on the other particularly  my glute not to work! I have over rotation in one hip due to this and no rotation in the other. I've been to two physo and he noticed my muscles were not working correctly. This I feel is making its way up though out my whole body considering your pelvis is the centre. Now I also have an issue with holding in flactulence I can only describe it as leaking and my inability to hold this in when I do go to the toilet  evacuate this does help. However it' does start building up again. also I do have h-pylori infection  which I'm trying to eradicate and IBS  but I'm starting to think the inability is relating more to my hip could this be possible? I have no problems in other areas of the pelvic floo. Thank you 

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

It absolutely can! I'm in a similar situation (interstitial cystitis and IBS) and my urogyno sent me to pelvic pt after a bad uti caused my levator muscle to spasm. It turned out my left hip was out of alignment and that created tense and malfunctioning muscles throughout the pelvis. My left glute was also weakened. PT has helped so much, urinary urgency and frequency are decreased and my hip hasn't popped out in over a month. I wish I had started this when I was first diagnosed with IC! I'm sure you'll find results for your digestive issues as well- just be sure to do the "homework" you're assigned lol. I work in a gastroenterology office and we refer people to pelvic pt all the time. Good luck!

• Posted