PEMF for Prostatic Hyperplasia

Posted , 7 users are following.

Is anybody familiar with or has tried a PEMF ( Pulsed Electromagnetic Field ) device for the treatment of Prostatic enlargement symptoms?

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

, so, pray tell, what is that? Have not ever heard of it would like to hear about it.

• Posted

Put PEMF into the search box as there were several posts on it a week or so ago.

• Posted

Snake oil...

• Posted

is that based or experience or research or just a hunch ?

• Posted

Why all the publications are circa 1990ths? It's one of the of quack scams. Don't fall for it. There is no know mechanisms of Magnetic or slow changing EM fields influencing a living cell. I'm a professor of Physics. Read this site:

https://sciencebasedmedicine.org/pulsed-electromagnetic-field-snake-oil/

At best it's a placebo effect. Don't trust the writers who claim they cured their BPH through PEMF. Better don't waste your time om studying it or God forbid your money on the devices. Find a suitable less invasive treatment, don't waste the time on quack science.

• Posted

Thank you so much for your reply and the link.

• Posted

I have read a few posts on this web site in the last couple months about PEMF. A person named Bob mentioned it.

I just looked up information on the internet about it. It looks interesting. One study with dogs claimed a 57% reduction in prostate size in 3 weeks, with Two 5 minute treatments per day for 3 weeks.

It claims to work by increasing blood flow to the prostate. One thing that confuses me is that PAE claims to shrink the prostate by reducing blood flow. PEMF advoctes claim that it also reduces inflamation in the prostate and that may be one of its mechanisms to reduce prostate size.

There is a doctor in Naples Florida offering the treatment.

With results like it shows, it seems like there would be more research about it.

Thomas

• Posted

Then, buy it for your dog...