Pending scoliosis surgery number 3

Posted , 2 users are following.

I had spine surgery 7 years ago right after my 18th birthday, three days after the surgery one of the screws broke and three months after that I had a revision surgery and healed well enough. Fast forward 7 years later and I have been having chronic leg pain to the point I was going to foot doctors, and soon after that I got in a bad car wreck and after I got out of my car I went paralyzed for a few hours and my back was killing me. I went to a spine doctor after that and he said I have broken and loose screws. I had a CT scan last week and I'll find out if I have to have another surgery tomorrow. He said that if I have to have surgery he has to take the rods and screws down to almost my tail bone, and I'm worried it will affect how I walk. I'm a manager for a gas station and it's a really physical job so I don't know what I'm going to do...

Has anyone else had rods and screws placed all the way down to the tailbone? Does it affect your walking? How long does it take to recover from it?

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi Rainflakes,

Wow surgery number 3. Definitely not in your postion, but before I'd embark on that level of surgery I would be wanting definative answers. I have T2 to L2, surgery.Originally was going to be down to L4, but they stopped at L2 incase they need to do more surgery down to  my tailbone too. I hope it does not come to that. I would assume the dificulty would be limited movement hence it would naturally change your walking posture. Your physicall job I imagine would be more difficult due to restricted bending which I assume you have alread. Be prepared to have as many questions as possible and make sue you get answers and not just being fobbed off. 

Good Luck with you prognosis and if you have to have surgery I wish you well. Please update us of your outcome. It is good to keep informantion like this on the forum. 

• Posted