Pending shoulder replacement

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi I'm due to have my right shoulder replacement 4 weeks today and nerves are beginning to kick in, don't know why as iv had a hip replacement and 2 foot ops within the last 18 months. Can anyone tel me what to expect/how recovery is going and what you would suggest as appropriate or easiest clothing to wear following the op. Also is it adviseable to buy one if those v shaped pillows for support after the op. I'm a 53 year old female rheumatoid arthritis sufferer. Thanks in advance

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Ive had 2. Ask for a nerve block and make sure they give you plenty of pain meds. Im not trying to scare you but as a nurse i dont BS people. Its very painful but it does get better. 6 weeks in a sling and mandatory PT. Im almost 5 mos post op n i still go to PT. Pain has subsided to just an occasional annoyance but the 1st 2 months were hell. Ice is your friend. I also took ROBAXIN (muscle relaxer) which helped alot. You wont be on these meds forever so dont worry about addiction. That whole thing has caused people to suffer needlessly because MD's are scared to prescribe. Youll need meds to reduce pain which in turn allows you to rest which allows you to heal.

• Posted

Thanks v much for the help, pretty much what I'm expecting tbh, thanks for the heads up. I'm generally pretty good with pain tolerance due to the rheumatoid, so preparing myself as had few horror stories

• Posted

I’m copying and pasting below some of what I posted in another thread explaining about my experience. Perhaps some of it is useful. In regards to your question about clothing, I would suggest getting some loose and easy to put-on button-up shirts. You will have difficulty putting on a shirt over your head for a few weeks. Also, some loose exercise pants with elastic waist will be easiest to put on and take off.