PF Release Surgery on both Feet at the same time advice

Posted , 10 users are following.

I am a college soccer player who has been struggling with PF for 4 years. After switching podiatrists my new doctor has said surgery is my best option. She says to shorten my recovery time, so that I can get back in for season she is going to do both feet on the same day. Has anyone had both feet done? I live on the second floor of my apartment building and am wondering if I will be able to walk with boots on both feet or will I be in a wheel chair?

1 like, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Oh, Keeley! That sounds awful. 

Before you go down the surgery path, please ask around to some other podiatrists and find one who offers EPAT (Extracorporeal Pulse Activation Technology) sometimes referred to as ESWT or shockwave therapy.  It's non-invasive and you'll be back to playing soccer in no-time.

I'm not a doctor but have seen lots of great success with this technology--it is definitely worth checking out.  Let me know if you need help finding someone.

Wishing you all the best!

• Posted

Hi Keeley, 

Checking back in to see how you're doing.  You must either already be back at school or getting ready to go.

Were you able to talk to a podiatrist and learn more about EPAT? Hope so. 

There's no magic bullet and nothing's a sure thing, but this technology is amazing and will help you avoid surgery.

• Posted

Hello! After further discussion with my parents and my podiatrist we ended up agreeing to the surgery, I am 7 days post op, on both feet!
  • Posted

First of all, go see a fellowship trained orthopedic surgeon. I would suggest doing the worst foot first to see if it even works. I have had the prob for 10 years and chose to have a gastroc slide to relieve stress on the plantar fascia and not destabilize the foot. I am training again after 3 weeks but some pain is still there. Let me know what you do and if it works.

Dennis

• Posted