Pip

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hiya I’m new to this and was wondering if anyone could possibly help I was at my f2f pip appointment 2weeks ago and called today and was told I was awarded pip,I’m on income support do I have to call them and tell them or will this be automatically applied onto my income support telling them I now receive pip aswell 

Sorry I’m all new to this stuff 

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hi,

DWP will have contacted Income support because they use the same computer system. As you're claiming Income Support, do you have a daily living award of PIP? If you do, do you live alone (no non dependents) living with you, does anyone claim carers allowance for looking after you?

You could be entitled to premiums on top of your Income support BUT it does depend on circumstances and what award of PIP you have.

Were you claiming DLA previously, or is this a first time claim for disability benefits?

• Posted

Hiya yeah it’s daily living award I’ve been awarded for no one claims the career one I live on own with my two kids this is my first time claiming this benefit so it’s all new to me 
    • Posted

As you only live with your children then you'll need to ring Income Support and ask to claim Severe Disability Premium (SDP) this isn't automatically added because you have to apply for it, it's very simple to apply for. It's an extra £62.45 per week on top of your IS. You will also get another disability premium of £32.55 per week on top of your IS. This one is automatically added though. BOTH premiums are backdated to the date of your PIP award, so you'll have another nice backdated amount going into your bank in a few weeks time.

Your local council will also need to be told about your PIP claim because it could affect your housing benefit (in a good way) any benefit cap that you may have had previously will now not apply to you. Hope this helps.

• Posted