PIP - DWP and Awkward

Posted , 7 users are following.

My partner has severe epilepsy, moderate depression and severe anxiety. He had to transfer over to PIP from DLA last March. He was on middle rate care and low mobility. The DWP wrongly labled his fits as peti mals although we had told them they were grand mals and provided evidence. He was awarded 6 points for care and 4 for mobility. We went through the steps and had to go to  tribunal appeal in September  which we did and he won and to our amazment was awarded high level care and high mobility. The DWP then had a month to ask for a statement of reasons - they waited until the very last date that they could to do that. They just don't care about the anxiety they put you through. So about 6 weeks later they got their Statement of Reasons - we were sent a copy also. I am not a lawyer so can't say 100% but I couldn't see any legal argument for them within it. They had until the 24th of December to send in a letter asking for an appeal. I spoke to the court yesterday and they hadn't heard anything but they did mention that there was a leeway of a few days over the Christmas period for post to arrive but it had to have been sent in before the closing date. So today I phoned the DWP and had a really unhelpful woman on the phone who told me that they hadn;t made a decision yet and they had 28 days plus two weeks to let the court know.  I phoned the court again today and they ahve said again - no only 28 days - they can send it in late but they would have to note why it was late and have a really good reason and then the judges discretion would come in. I just feel that they are being awkward for the sake of it and dragging this on as long as they can without a care in the world about what they are putting my partner through. Their treatment of him is actually making him worse and as stress increase his fits he has been having more recently. He broke his leg during a fit in May and is still on crutches because the bre