pityriasis rosea. help.

Posted , 11 users are following.

Ive had pityriasis rosea for about 3 weeks now. I have been to the doctors twice, and the out of hours place. Normal doctors said it's a sweat rash, a different one said its a fungal rash, and the out of hours doctor told me that its pityriasis rosea. Its spreading, its all under my arms, across my stomach, on my groin up my back and now starting on my bum. I don't know how I can stop this spreading! Im a chef so work in a hot environment 5/6 days a week so its very difficult to keep cool. Please help! 

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Oh, ive also been given timodine cteam and daktacort. I also take an qnti histamine to try and stop the itching. 
  • Posted

Hannah, I am just finishing week 3 of this awful rash, myself. They say it doesn't happen more than once in a lifetime, but I am on my 3rd round with this in 15 years. Every single time it has shown up 10 days after strep throat. I am currently going to the tanning bed as much as I can. it's helping to fade my upper body, but very slow to fade my legs. The last 2 times I had this, it took about 8 weeks for it to go away, so I am trying to be patient and wait it out again this time. I have 3 kids who just finished school for the summer and I can't take them to the pool or beach because of this ugly rash. Luckily, I don't itch..I just look ugly. Like yours, mine started in my upper body and slowly spread downward to my toes. Good luck dealing with your rash..please keep in touch and let me know how it's going with yours fading.
    • Posted

Ive stopped using the steroid cream and have kept taking one anti histamine a day. and touch wood, it looks like its beginning to clear up xx 
  • Posted