Pityriasis Versicolor that won't go away

Posted , 26 users are following.

I first started getting pityriasis versicolor a few years back on holiday. I discovered a load of white scaly dots on my stomach in a line straight down the middle (it resembled a sort of plane landing strip as the dots had joined!). I ignored it thinking it would go, which it did, until I went on holiday again. After three years of it returning each time I went abroad, I went to the doctors. I was prescribed the shampoo they recommend to cure it, and it didn’t work. It came back even worse. I went back to the doctors and he then said it’s the worst case he’s seen in all his years of being a doctor, I was mortified! It covered my stomach, back and even part of my legs. I was then prescribed anti-fungal tablets which appear to have made zero difference. The only other advice I was given was ‘don’t go to hot countries’. There is a whole world out there that I am determined to see, so no way in hell am I taking that advice. I’m doing some traveling for a month at the end of the year to 3 incredibly hot countries, so I NEED to get this sorted. Please help :-(

2 likes, 52 replies

52 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hey Katie, I've had this for over 12 years and tried almost everything too. Hot countries don't make any difference it's just a yeast imbalance.  I've been using Extra Virgin Organic Raw Coconut Oil for less than a week and my patches are gone!  I got it in Sainsburys and its only £6 - hope it's works for you too and you can go travel the world with your bikini on and head up!!  X 
    • Posted

How funny that you replied today as I've actually booked myself a drs appointment for tonight to give it one last go! That's interesting about the coconut oil, how do you apply it (i.e. wet/dry skin? how long for?). And how quickly did you see results? I'm starting to think mine will never go :-( X
  • Posted