Planning for bilateral hip replacement in December 2016

Posted , 9 users are following.

I'm 56 years old. I'm planning to have bilateral hip replacement done in December. I currently have cortisone injections in both hips about every 90 days for arthritis. The injections help but last less and less. I'm nervous about surgery but also excited about feeling better and not needing injections anymore. I'm a NICU nurse and the 12 hour shifts are exhausting. The reason for waiting until December for surgery is to have more sick time built up at work and to have my husband off from work for a while to help. He works in school transportation so Winter break makes it possible to be off a bit. I'm interested in finding out from anyone who has had this surgery anything that would be useful for recovery at home. Any other input regarding your own experience would be appreciated. Thank you

1 like, 29 replies

29 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Rita,  I had a bilateral replacement done on the 11th of this month under spinal injection.  I am 55 yrs old and can tell you all going well.   Do get the raised seat for WC, and the long sponge for washing.   Also a grabber so you can pick things up.

Sleeping on your back you need to find your own position of comfort I have tried several ways and now have two extra pillows so I am semi sitting.  

You also need to have easy fitting shoes or I would say some trainers with velcro fasternings. 

Hope this helps.. if you want to know more let me know 

• Posted

Would slip on shoes such as Crocs or Merrills work? Or would the velcro trainers be better? 
    • Posted

Slip on or velcro I got some trainers with elastic laces so basically slip ons... Not sure about crocs and they may not be a good enough fit.     I also got some deck shoes which are nice and soft... remember your feet will swell and be about a size bigger 
    • Posted