Please help

Posted , 7 users are following.

I am 44 years old, I had a total hysterctomy last year due stagw 4 endometriosis.   I was started on HRT, EvaMist, immediately.   I had never had a fracture before, however, in the last 3 months i have had 5 fractures (4 in my hands, 1 in my foot) on 3 separate occasions. I had a DEXA scan this week and the results came back showing osteopenia in the back and hip, but not in the forearm.  I am blown away!  With the exception of some arthritis, I am healthy, 44 years old, never smoked, routine weight bearing exercise, occasional alcohol use, little caffeine. I am a nurse, always on my feet. Very active.  My lab work was unremarkable.  What am I doing wrong?  My doctor recommends fosamax.   Can anyone offer me some insight, suggestions of lifestyle or dietary changes, medictions?  Any response appreciated.  I am hungry for informatioin. I came by this site while searching. Thank you.

1 like, 26 replies

26 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Tooyoung, are you taking bio-identical HRT?  That's considered much safer than the standard which is manufactured from pregnant mares' urine.  
    • Posted

Speaking of HRT, once we have osteoporosis is it too late to get on HRT?

My 84 year old mother been on hormones for over 40 years and does NOT have osteoporosis and she eats a 1/2 grapefruit everyday which I just read helps bone density. She is so sharp minded too! 

Dang... Not me. wink wish she had guided me to do all that. She's mean, but healthy. wink 

• Posted

My stepmother was on HRT forever, after a hysterectomy (age somewhere in her forties).  But had to stop when she was in her eighties because of development of breast cancer (non-invasive, seemed to cause little problem, but still...).  She always took premarin.  
    • Posted

I decided to take Eva Mist which is a spray that it absorbed and not processed through the liver to avoid the potential risks of the hormones that are processed through the liver.
    • Posted