Please help

Posted , 13 users are following.

Hi everyone, i wonder if i could get a bit of advice? everyone i know think i have the perfect life. I have a really well paid senior managers job, a great wife and two beautiful boys. 

My major issue is that i think i may be an alcoholic. i can stay of it for a week or two but then i feel the pressure of work coming on and wham, i'm straight back on it. I'll drink for days on end, mainly on my own! miss work and then lie about why i wasnt in. im lieing to everyone including my wife and im not fit enough mentally forv my current position. I've constantly got the fear and feel suicidal often. I want to leave my job but feel that could be the last straw and i'll never get myself sorted. maybe i should go sick and let my employer know exactly whats going on? any advice would be good as i'm really struggling.

1 like, 47 replies

47 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hello Jimmy, honesty is always the best policy, especially when alcohol abuse is the issue. I was in a similar situation at work and in all aspects of my life. I became extremely ill, was hospitalised,lost my business and after a period of recovery - not for the first time - got myself a job.

i started to drink again and, as is the case with most alcoholics, thought that no-one knew but me but of course everyone who knew me did. The peoplewho didn'tknow me just thought I was a drunk. My emplyer kne ful well that I had a serious problem andit still amazes me that he toleratd me for solong.

Eventually, I was ready to admit to myself that I was an alcoholic but was terrified od teling my boss. I knew that I would lose my job eventually anyway so I plucked up the courage to tell him.

The response I got from him was amazing.He offerred to help me in so many ways and told me that he had been waiting for me to tell him the truth and he had given me a certain amount of time to tell him before he fired me.