PLIF Fusion

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi 

Anybody out there has had PLIF fusion and how your results have been. 

I am 57 and my doctor recommends this between L4 and L5 .  I was told I could return to work  after two months,  but I work in construction ???

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I've had a TLIF from L3 through S1...12 days in the hospital,. 4 months of rehab, 6 months in a brace.  Same approach...going in through the back (posterior)...but this was a lot of rails and screws.  I'm not a doc and don't know why neuros pick one approach vs. another but why is this being proposed for a single-level fusion when an LLIF is available?  I had stenosis at L2/L3 and my doc did the lateral surgery (go in from the side).  One night in the hospital, immediate and permanent pain relief, no rehab, no brace.  Miracle op.  Have you asked about an LLIF???  Again, the PLIF may be the absolute perfect procedure for your condition; there may be a very good reason why the LLIF won't work for you.  Just check it out.

https://patient.info/forums/discuss/the-expandable-spacer-570509

UPDATE: Search YouTube for "Globus LLIF" for the animation.

Pix: Pre-op lateral, post-op posterior, post-op lateral.

• Posted

I highly recommend a second opinion. I have spent the last 11 years in chronic pain. A simple second opinion could have assisted my decision. Good luck.
  • Posted

Doc   Also wants to do PLIF on L5 to S1  And a bunch of laser work from L1 to L3 . Also have a bunch of stenosis areas ,and a bulge at L4. It is the fusion that I am concerned cause now it’s seems to me that any fusion is the same and creates more problems later above .  I use a inversion table and keeps me in good condition  but when I over extend my back working the nerve pain shuts me down for 3 months in bed , So the PLIF is supposed to be less invasive  but dose it work good  ?!?

• Posted