PMR and Fatigue

Posted , 11 users are following.

Good Morning!  I'm wondering about fatigue and PMR/GCA  I know that before diagnoses and prednisone, I was experiencing severe fatigue.  That has gotten somewhat better  (although I think pred just has me revved up a little - I'm on 40  mg).  As I'm learning about all this and how to manage it, I'm thinking that managing my energy and strength level, my fatigue, is key to managing pain. 

​My job is very active.  I'm an office manager for an early childhood center, and pre-PMR walked about 7 - 9 miles a day at work, at a brisk pace.  Plus lifting, carrying, etc.  Plus some sitting at computer and LOTS of up and down, up and down.  Our owner and director have been very accomodating, and I'm trying to slow down, and cut back on my trips up and down our hallways.  I need to work, but, whew!  I'm leaving it all at work, and just crash when I get home. 

​Am I right that fatigue is a symptom of PMR?  And that it will continue?  It does seem that when I overdo it, I end up in pain.  And really just weak.  It's like I can't hold my body upright and just need to lay down.

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

One of the best things for those of us who aren't stuck at a "9-5" work location is to take a 1-hr nap when fatige becomes bothersome.

This really gives much restorative effect to my energy level, particularly after strenuous activities, without setting off the sort of stiffness that creeps in during nighttime sleep hours.

Taking a late-afternoon nap in particular, I can usually delay my 6pm dosage by several hours, allowing me to take my full pred dosage closer to bedtime for maximum effect heading into the morning.  Note however that I am already at a very low dosage which isn't at all disturbing to my sleep.