PMR, Prednisone

Posted , 4 users are following.

I just looked at my notes again over the last 3+ years of PMR. 15mg the first week...then 10...  Then it looks like notes from a person who is trying to lose weight and continues to write one excuse after another about what impeded the diet plan.....cold, stress, houseguests, vacation, family, etc.etc...

so, not much has happened really over the past 3+ years. I am back at 8m.

Lowest ever attempted was 6m, didn't last long.....always a disaster when I get to 7-1/2.

Any improvement is measured in the distance I can walk until the pain starts...there is much improvement there. Long time to dink around with 2-3m difference from what I started at. But I guess Eileen is in the same boat, having Had PMR For so long and still bumping up to control the inflammation. Will it, one day, just accept the next 1/2m drop without a squeal?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

I was wondering, being a relatively newbie here, what is the golg standard signal of a flare? I started at 15, went up to  20  per Rheumy and decreased by .5 mg to 15. (2.5 mg drop from 20 was a bit hard on me, but looking back I regret going up) Was at 15 for about 4 weeks.  I just dropped from 15 to 14 Delayed Release Prednisone,  5th day now.  If I remember what I've read here correctly, changes in status the first few days are usually the body reacting to the lowered dose of Pred.  Around day 5-7, one might experience the signs of a flare.  For me on Day 1-2 I had some increased pain in my right bicep but no stiffness.  Also I was reminded of wherever in my body I'm a bit arthritic, base of thumbs, lower back, etc.. Today, day 5, I woke feeling blue, a predictable Pred W/D  effect for me, but also more tired.  Still, thank goodness, not feeling sick or stiff, maybe even less pain. 

But back to my question:  What would be THE signal that I was going into, or in a flared? 

• Posted