PMR with night flushes. Histamine?

Posted , 15 users are following.

I've been managing with PMR for about 9 months without steroids. Have stiffness and pain mainly in the shoulders, neck, upper arms, pelvic region, thighs, and knees, especially between 9 am and 3 pm. The symptoms ease in the evening and overnight, but I am experiencing hot prickly skin in the torso and head starting around 10 pm, which I think is a histamine reaction related to PMR. The problem is that it is causing insomnia. Has anyone else experienced these symptoms and can they suggest a solution?

0 likes, 79 replies

79 Replies

Next
  • Posted

How do you know you have PMR? I could never sleep if I didn't take Prednisone, to much pain.

• Posted

Hi Mr Bella. Classic symptoms and progression of the sudden onset type, and elimination of other possibilities that mimic PMR with blood testing. In my case the pain eases off during the night. What is preventing me from sleeping is the histamine flush. Histamine suppresses drowsiness, so I am wide awake half the night. I make up for it by sleeping in and napping in the afternoon. Fortunately, I'm retired.

• Posted

May I ask why "I've been managing with PMR for about 9 months without steroids" ?

• Posted

Hi Nick. To avoid the side-effects of long-term steroid use: increased risk of diabetes, osteoporosis, elevated blood-pressure, and immuno-suppression. I am at risk for an aggressive form of familial prostate cancer, which is also a big consideration.

• Posted

And allowing unmanaged inflammation to course through your body is opening you up to increased risks of those and other illnesses such as periphereral vascular disease as well as the possibility of GCA developing - far more likely with unmanaged PMR than when you take pred. GCA puts your sight at risk and also increases the risk of serious arterial damage including aortic aneurysm.

It isn't a simple equation I fear and I am appalled that a GP did not explain both sides to you.

• Posted