Pneumothorax 2 years ago. Afraid to fly out of the country. Please help

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello! This is my first time posting here. 

I’ve had Pneumothorax 2 years ago on my right lungdue to a fall from the 4th floor down to the ground (not disclosing anymore deets) had surgery; chest tube and all. Now my problem is that I am afraid I’ll have another collapse on the plane. I am flying to the US from the Philippines and that will be a very long flight so I want to know what i can do. When I had my check up a year after my last surgery, pulmo said my lungs are good, chest xray is good and that I won’t have any problem flying. But after having pneumothorax, I’ve always had difficulty breathing, the right part of my back hurts especially after walking for so long / running or simply sitting without back support. What should I do? I’m afraid it’ll collapse on the plane and if I do feel like I couldn’t breathe on the plane, what can I do? 

I want to go to the hospital but I don’t have sufficient funds as of the moment. Should I go for a check up and ask the doctor if it is safe to fly? We already have tickets and I honestly don’t want to waste anymore money... please help..

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Correction the surgery is just chest tube insertion, “CTT” I honestly cant remember what it means but they drained my right lung. 
  • Posted

2 years is very long time man. if you didn't had any problems since then you have nothing to worry .

you can ask for a x ray few days befour the flight just be calm. and make sure you have travel insurance . other then that don't worry

• Posted

Thank you! I don’t think I’ve ever had a problem and my past xrays are good but sometimes when doing strenuous activities it’s definitely hard to breathe and the right part of my back hurts so yeah I’m afraid
    • Posted