popped bartholin cyst, Help!

Posted , 7 users are following.

am 19 yrs old and i had a very small pea sized bump on my right vaginal lip which i researched and realized was a bartholin cyst. ive had it for a week or two. Last night i decided to look at it myself and i was pressing on it a bit with tweezers to figure out what it was, and i popped it by accident and pus and blood came out. Aftwerwards, i sat in a warm bath for 10 minutes, dried it, and put antibiotic ointment on it. Then i filled an empty water bottle with hot water and slept with it compressed to that area. This morning i can feel there is no pus there, but it is a bit swollen and painful when i touch it. What should i do next?

1 like, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

It sounds like this may not be a Bartholin's gland cyst, but a sebaceous cyst or even an ingrown hair that got infected. I'm not a doctor, but I would say that keeping it clean, wearing cotton underwear and looser fitting pants (etc), and putting antibiotic on it (or even teatree oil, just a little bit diluted with water) is a great plan. If the swelling doesn't go down, if it oozes, or if the redness and inflammation spreads, see a doctor. Or see one now! Can't hurt.
  • Posted

Well, you want your cyst to pop, but hopefully you got all of the pus out of it or it will come back. It sounds like you'll be fine. I would stay away from the antibiotic ointment as it is too heavy for the bartholin glad opening. Just lots of warm/hot water and a little non fragrant mild soap is enough. Don't touch. I wouldn't worry about it too much.

Just worry about prevention now that you know you haver had one. Get tested for sti's if you're concerned.

• Posted

HI Jane,