Positive reason to take HRT????

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi everyone,

I'm new to this HRT thing. Got my second patch on this morning (first one I found stuck to the bed sheets this morning - got a lot to learn)

What I really want to ask is, having spoken to a doctor (well cried at!) and been advised to start HRT, she then talked me through a LOT of negative stuff like risks of cancer, thickening of womb linings etc etc. Then I got the patches and read even more negative stuff about it.

What I REALLY need to hear right now is some plus's to using HRT. I need to know this is the right thing to do. Can anyone help?

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Edited

Hi Sara, I know how you're feeling, I had a similar experience. It took me a while to find a GP who was even prepared to prescribe me with HRT as Ive always suffered from migraines and they were so reluctant to let me try it. When they eventually did and I read the leaflets, I was terrified!! However, nearly 3 years on, I'd now be terrified to come off it. It really helped me with a lot of my symptoms and I feel a LOT better on it. That's not to say it's perfect and a fix for everything because for me, it hasn't been. But all I can suggest for you is what I told myself when I first went on it : try it for 3 months and see how you feel. Nothing ventured, nothing gained. The risks associated with HRT have been totally overblown by the media. See how you go, and reassess after a few months. Hopefully it helps you as much as it helps me, but if it doesn't, well at least you tried.

• Edited

Thank you so much for the kind words. I'll do exactly that. To be honest I'm on patch 3 now and I already feel better. Maybe things aren't quite as bad as I thought, but it's so nice to have people like you just to put my mind at ease. Thank you

• Posted

Hi Sara