Possible chiari malformation type 1

Posted , 4 users are following.

Can anyone look at my profile picture and tell me if I should bring up possible chiari malformation type 1 to my doctor?

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi your cerible tonsils do look low have you got symptoms?
    • Posted

I do I have almost all the associated symptoms but my main concern is my head pains they are  excruciating! I get them from just about everything I do. Thank you for replying 
  • Posted

I’m no doctor, but it looks like a chiari type 1 to me. I would definitely bring this to the attention of a doctor and have them refer the images to be examined by a neuro surgeon or doctor. They will definitively look at it and take measuremnents. Modern thought is It doesn’t matter how herniated the tonsils are, they can be 1mm or 17mm it doesn’t matter, they can still cause symptoms, and syrinxs can (probably lower chance if they haven’t developed yet, but they certainly can). If u don’t have symptoms you may opt not to have surgery which is probably a good choice and just monitor it and the way you feel day to day.  It is a serious condition, so it’s best to get someone to look at it and it’s best to know you have it as opposed to just forgetting about it and moving on.
    • Posted

Yea I made this mri don’t in August of 2017 but my symptoms are worsening and my head pain is bringing me to a dark place. I will definitely have my doctor take a look. Thank you for your advice 
    • Posted

Wow lol I meant “I had this mri in August 2017.”
    • Posted