Possible Kidney Failure?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Good afternoon, I'm looking for a bit of advice really. My father-in-law has stage 4 metastatic prostate cancer which has spread to at least his lymph nodes and adrenal gland (possibly further). The doctors know he has problems with his kidney function but recently he has had extensive lymphodema in one leg (it is literally twice the size) and has had a scan and blood test yesterday to rule out a clot which it did but it has shown he has low protein levels. I used to be a nurse and although I have limited medical knowledge I know that both of these symptoms are signs of kidney failure but all his GP has done is give him some protein shakes. He eats a fair amount of protein already, in fact the problem we have is getting him to eat vegetables with whatever he is having as he tends to eat a piece of fish or a couple of chicken kievs on their own (I do cook for him but he often doesn't fancy it and gets his own) so again, this suggests to me that his kidneys aren't absorbing protein correctly.

He doesn't really retain a lot of information these days so I don't know what has been discussed with him but it seems to me that if he is showing signs of kidney failure they should be doing more than just giving him protein shakes and sending him on his way, particularly as they know his kidney function is already compromised.

I don't really know what to do next as neither his GP nor consultant seem to be that bothered about it. In other people's experience are these typical symptoms of kidney failure? He does also get pains in his chest and breathlessness sometimes. If so I will put some pressure on the doctor to do some more investigations. I know he only has a few months left but it doesn't seem fair to just expect him to put up with it and not tell him what's going on. Unless this is normal procedure in a terminal patient?

Any advice would be appreciated!

Thank you for your time

Emily

0 likes, 3 replies