Possibly a Hypochondriac, terrified that I might have Leukemia... help😕

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello, this is my first time posting on this site. I'm 22 years old and tend to have health anxiety. It goes from one thing to the next. Last month I had found a red splotch on my breast, googled and inflammatory breast cancer came up. I went to 2 different doctors, got an ultrasound and both confirmed that it was not breast cancer. It took a long time for me to accept that. Now this month I had a cold that lasted 9 days. Came back from my vacation this last week and had a weird stomach virus. Then I had a physical on Wednesday feeling fine and had a fever of 100.6. I also noticed sometimes when I brush my teeth my gums will bleed. I looked up both symptoms on google and all I got was Leukemia symptoms. I do not feel yucky, I do not feel fatigued, I do not have pale skin, I do not have a rash or decreased appetite. But I've read a few horror stories of teens saying that they thought they were fine but ended up having the disease. I'm waiting to get labs done as I write this and I'm so nervous. I'm absolutely terrified! Does anyone have any experience of leukemia, does this sound like it? Anything helps, pray/send happy thoughts for good blood tests for me and that I don't get a call telling me that I need to pack a hospital bagsad

1 like, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

I dont see how the symptoms you are talking abut make you fell that you have leukemia.First of all do some blood test(full blood count,differential,ESR).Ask the lab to do the differential manually ,this way they will see if there are abnormal cells.Your FBC results will probably show elevated lymphocytes or leukocytes which is normal for the stomach infection that you were talking about.You are way too young to think about having cancer,so dont worry about such symptoms
    • Posted