Post ankle pin and plate surgery

Posted , 4 users are following.

please help! I am 7 weeks post pin and plate and feel like I'm taking ten steps forward and 100 back at present. Want to start walking without moonboot as its rubbing against my very slow healing wound. But the pain is too much. The wound is giving me some jip..but GP does not think is infected. I have been on 3 course of antibiotics already so reluctant to go on more unless vital. The pain is preventing me doing my exercises as is the wound. Maybe I'm moving too fast!  Feel very low today. On ibuprofen and Panadol. Any suggestions fellow sufferers?

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

I'm sorry about your pain. I am 6 weeks post surgery and not weight bearing yet so I have no experience with trying to walk in the boot, yet. I can relate to the steps forward and many back feeling as ever since I got into the boot the swelling is intense when I'm up. I had a fracture blister that the surgeon used antibiotic strips on (almost like a large band aid with anti biotic on it) and that worked quite well to aide the healing. I hope things start to go well soon.

• Posted

Thankyou. Yes I had an ab strip on wound...but playing up again. Convinced it's the boot rubbing. Decided to try trainers today with two crutches around house, except stairs, just to give wound a rest! Good luck xxx

• Posted

I am ten weeks post surgery,and I have 11 pins and 2 plates.I have been wearing my air boot since the 5th of September and I have ,hoping, just another ten days of boot. Dont weight bare without boot until you have been told too.My ankle often feels rubbed in boot,so I take off boot when I can to move it. I have had real low days but I promise you there will be end in sight.Take a deep breath and I think too ,one day at a time .
  • Posted

Im 7 weeks post plate and pins operation, 9 weeks post fracture.