Post diverticulitis cycle of spasm nausea fatigue anxiety

Posted , 1 user is following.

Diag. 10 years ago. Was in hospital antibiotics worked. Refused surgery and about 3 months after had another attack. Went on antibiotics and cleared up quickly. Fast forward and felt the typical left sided pain this time new doctor gave flagyl and levaquin. Had Ct scan and all was good but I continued to have pain moving to right side and upper abdomen. Ultrasounds were all negative lab work all  normal except amylase which was low. It is now 4 weeks into this and I have trouble getting out of bed. I'm on leave from work, everyday is a struggle. Evenings seem to ease up but around 3am the spasms kick in go to bathroom loose stool not much but then not eating much. It is so depressing which I think is now in a cycle of spasm nausea fatigue anxiety. Has anyone gone through this, any input would be appreciated

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Haven't heard from anyone. I'm new to site so maybe I'm not doing the right approach. Help

• Posted

Hi Bonnie

You are in the right place and your message is being displayed properly.  However, I've not come across what you describe.  The antibiotics do wipe you out - some of the side effects are pretty vicious -  and anxiety and depression is common with this illness.  Normally though after 4 weeks or so, you should be starting to feel better - more energy, less pain - although it can take a long time to settle, particularly when you have had the disease for some time.  I don't know what to suggest except possibly take some form of probiotic to replace what has been destroyed by the antibiotics.  Best wishes.

• Posted