Post Infectious IBS - 9 months later

Posted , 6 users are following.

Sorry longer post:

9 months ago I was at work in perfect health, felt great all day, worked out in the morning, then all of a sudden in the afternoon my entire stomach started cramping up, and I started having intense pain, I couldn't walk for a while. a day later I started throwing up, diarrhea for weeks. All tests came back negative, blood showed no infections, but CRP was high.

I had a doctor diagnos me with Post Infectious IBS.

9 months later I have no bathroom issues, but I still feel nauseous almost all the time, I vomit a few times a month usually, My upper abdomen/chest usually still has dull pain throughout the day, no anti-nausea works, no medications work for the pain. my CRP has stayed high, and although I feel better than the first day of whatever happened, this still sucks I am pretty sure that this is going to be my life.

I've been working from home for the last 9 months so I am sure I'll be fired eventually. I stay in my condo all the time, as I feel nauseous I cant really go anywhere or do anything. Disability is hardly ever given for IBS, I don't really know what to do at this point, I want to be alive and get back to my normal life but at the same time there is no point of living like this (not suicidal), it's miserable, it sucks to wake up knowing you're going to be in pain, nauseous, and have another boring day of: work, eat, sleep, repeat.

What do people with IBS like this do? Just stay locked in their home?

Some people with IBS have told me they don't think this sounds like IBS either, I personally think the key to all of this is figuring out what happened at work, unfortunately I don't know if that's possible now.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

hi