Post Op Questions

Posted , 6 users are following.

I entered a post on how I'm going to need a ligament repair that'll be done early next year, but for whatever reason it went "under review" and hasn't posted on the board which is frustrating.

Ayway, I know that I'm going to be NWB for quite awhile (last time it was 6 weeks), so I'm thinking about options other than crutches, even though I can do crutches long term (had them for 3 months or so, NWB back in high school)...so I'm looking into the knee scooter and the iWalk 2.0. 

Have any of you had experience with either and/or both? Which would you recommend. I want to get back to work as quickly as possible after the surgery, and I work in retail (or maybe childcare by then, not sure, have an interview later this week)...so?

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Go with the scooter, absolutely no question.  You cannot carry anything when on crutches.  On a scooter, you can do lots of things (especially if you have one with a basket).  You don't get so tired and you aren't tempted to put weight on your foot when you are still non-weight bearing.  I cleaned house, cooked, did laundry, shopped, etc. My surgery was on my left ankle, so I even drove (although the scooters are heavy and a little tricky to get into the trunk of a car!)  I ditched the crutches after one day because I was unsteady on them and pooped out after a round-trip to the bathroom.  Go with the scooter, it's way better than crutches!

• Posted

You actually CAN carry things whilst on crutches. For example, when I had my surgery last time, I got so good that I could go to the kitchen, make myself a sandwich and bring it back out to the living room, all while on crutches. Easy? Not really. Possible? Absolutely! Something you could get used to, Yes! I started doing it all the time once I got the hang of it.
  • Posted