Post rectocele repair nightmare. Advice welcome!

Posted , 7 users are following.

So, I am one week post posterior repair. 

All went relatively smooth. I had some issues with the vaginal packing being so painful after surgery, so they loosened it a bit. 

Anyway long story short, 4 days after the op I had to go back to the hospital as I had fresh almost maroon red bleeding. I was examined and all hell literally broke loose. Mass bleeding and clots. I had developed a hematoma and infection at the very top inside. 

I was put on IV antibiotics and monitored for 2 more nights in hosp. My surgeon examined me and said he is confident it will heal. 

But I still just can’t help but worry about it all. I’m still bleeding (he said it would take a while to settle and drain fully) but I had a little feel inside and it just feels a mess. I know I’m not a professional but I’m so worried about how it’s going to be when it’s healed. It just feels like there’s stitches and ridges and swelling everywhere. It just mortified me. I know I shouldn’t mess and I haven’t since. I just wanted to feel for myself. My surgeon is very reputable for what he does so I don’t think he’s made a mess so to speak. 

I’ve not had the best experience with it so just need some reassurance from anyone who’s been through something similar. Recovery just feels like it will take forever. I’m 32 with two young children. Gen

1 like, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hi Gen

I do sympathise and it’s hard not to worry. It’s very early days yet to be feeling around inside!!! I didn’t dare do that till at least 6 weeks and yes it is lumpy and bumpy. 

I had an anterior repair in 2016 and a posterior repair 8 weeks ago. I too had a haematoma with the anterior and it scared me witless. All I can tell you is that my surgeon reassured me it would drain and heal and it did. Just take it easy and follow the guidelines to rest. Lifting and straining will only make it worse.