post thrombotic syndrome work/pip mobility uk

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi

im 30 male uk and was diagnosed with DVT in my left leg in 2010, about 3/6 months later had multi pulmonary emboli in lungs and soon after pneumonia. Then in 2011  i was diagnosed with reoccurring clot.

Since that day my leg swells 4 to 5 inches bigger then my other leg after i stand or walk for a abit. 

Im on warfarin for life and my INR is always in range 2.5 even with extreme swelling.

my leg is discoloured and has varicose veins and constantly warm and im still constantly short of breath. 

my legs like carrying round a log that turns to stone (dead weight) after a few hours.

Until last week i worked as a bouncer 2 nights a week (4/6 hours a shift) I'l get my final wage next week and then thats it.

Id get by mostly leaning on a wall and standing on 1 leg because of the extreme pain.

Id see people mocking (laughing in my face copying me ) how my leg appeared when swollen and when i walked (it looks like im walking with a prosthetic leg when swollen.

The pain gradually increases until its extreme!!!, it hurts unbearably just to take a step after a while.

I have to sleep for 2 days and elevate my leg for the swelling to go down and the pain to go away.

As the pain increases i cant fully stand straight on my left leg and my knees buckles when swollen.

My haematologist said i had post thrombotic syndrome.

The only benefit iv ever claimed was some work sick support (dnt know the name) for 2 months when i originally got my dvt and was off work. 

I continued to force my self to work even though i could honestly cry from the unbearable pain (standing 5 /10 hours ...the torture !! physically and mentally sealing my lip so no one notices (i would have been removed if i appeared weak and unwell) so i could buy my warfarin.

But im at wits end,the pain is the most its ever been and has become unbearable.